Bianca's Book Blog
The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood
Bianca

Bianca

Nov 22, 2021

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

Rating: 5/5 stars

If you're obsessed with slow-burn contemporary romance novels like me you have to rush to your closest library/bookstore and get your hands on this book. I had to give this book 5/5 since I finished this book in less than 24 hours and it had me put off all my tasks I had for that day. I physically could NOT set this book down.

The main character in this book, Olive, is a 26-year-old old grad student who struggles to find time for relationships. Olive is so loveable and relatable and while she does sometimes have her cringe second-hand embarrassing moments I loved reading this book from her point of view. Reading all the different interactions with the main love interest, Adam had me smiling ear to ear the whole time I was reading this book. Now I know there's a lot of basic romance tropes in this book such as fake dating, sunshine meets grumpy personality, and many many more. None of them in my opinion were forced, and even if some of them were cringe you bet that I didn't put the book down during the whole scene cause I eat cute tropes up. I feel the pacing of this book was perfect, the author didn't drag out the love story but at the same time, it was by no means insta love.

Also, I feel like I gotta give a shout-out to the author Ali hazelwood for being a woman in STEM. I don't know anything about biology but I can tell that the book was highly researched and I'm so happy that the character stayed true for her passion for science and research. Usually, I can get super bored in romance books when the plot focuses on things that happen other than the main romance, but the entire time during the book when it would focus on Olive's career in academia I was still intrigued by the story and what happens to her. Now, it might just be since I myself am a woman in STEM and I'm battling a lot of the same insecurities of proving myself in my field however, seeing Olive believe in herself and what she does really gives everyone reading this story a great role model to look up to. Even when she faces difficult obstacles in her career seeing her passion for what she is doing stay true really is great role model behaviour. I think it's important to have characters in the media show that even if you're faced in a situation where you might be the only woman in the room to not let that deter you in your goals. I also love Ali since she herself is a professor with a Ph.D. in neuroscience but, also is a number #1 new york best-selling author. She is a role model for me since I want a career in soft eng but she shows that I don't have to give up on other interests in my life. This story just gives me the extra encouragement that I can in fact do it all if I want to.

Overall, this book is definitely for the times when you just want to pick up and read something that you will know will put you in a good mood. From all the loving characters in this book to the great chemistry and romance, this is probably one of my favourite romances of all time, and it doesn't hurt that is based on one my fave ships of RYLO (ray x kylo ren) :)

Bianca

Bianca

Hey there, I'm a computer science student at the University of Guelph and I created this website with React, GraphCMS, Javascript and Tailwind/CSS. I created this book blog because I like to code and read and I wanted to share my reviews with those who share similar interests!

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Categories

goodReadsLogoBianca's goodreads